Treasurer

OFFICE INFORMATION

ONLINE PAYMENTS FOR TAXE
S WILL NOT BE PROCESSED UNTIL 09/01/2024
Please contact our office for details

Experience The Convenience - Pay Online!

The Humboldt County Treasurer's Office is open to the public for Motor Vehicle and Property Tax Processing you may transact your business between 8:00a.m. and 4:00p.m. Monday through Friday.  

All Driver License issuance require an appointment.  
Please call 515-332-1681- Option 1 to schedule an appointment.  This includes computer testing and drive testing. Please leave voicemail if line not answered. 

For your convenience a drop box is located on the north side of the courthouse by the center door for your use in paying property taxes (Please include ALL Tax Stubs)  or  motor vehicle renewals.

NOTE:  You may pay your taxes and motor vehicle registrations online by using the links on the left.

Contact Information
Phone: 515-332-1681 Option 1 Drivers' License Option 2 Motor Vehicle Option 3 Property Taxes
Email:  humboldtcotreasurer@gmail.com
Address: Humboldt County Treasurer's Office 203 Main Street, PO Box 100 Dakota City, IA 50529

2023/2024 TAXES HAVE BEEN CERTIFIED
      First Half due by September 30, 2023 and Second Half due by March 31, 2024
                  Represents taxes due July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023
                              Based on Valuations as of January 1, 2022
Please verify parcel information as this information is subject to change without notice.
As of April 2nd, 2024 all unpaid Taxes are subject to penalties. 
If you escrow, please review your tax statement as special assessments and drainage assessments are included with your statement.
NOT ALL ESCROW COMPAINES PAY THESE ADDITIONAL ASSESSMENTS.

THE 2024 TAX SALE WILL BE HELD ONLINE MONDAY, JUNE 17, 2024.
www.iowataxauction.com
Notice To Tax Sale Purchasers 2024

W-9

FYI’s regarding Humboldt County Property Taxes...

  •  To avoid publication in the newspaper, pay taxes in the office before 4:00 pm, OR online before midnight Monday, May 20, 2024
  •  To avoid Tax Sale, pay taxes in the office before 4:00 pm, Friday, June 14, 2024 OR online before midnight Saturday, June 15, 2024
  •  No taxes will be collected in the office or online on Monday, June 17th, 2024

OFFICE HOURS
Property Taxes: 8:00 - 4:00 Monday - Friday
Titles & Registrations: 8:00 - 4:00 Monday - Friday
Driver's License: 8:30 - 4:00 Monday - Friday   By appointment only.   ***Please call 515-332-1681 Option 1***
Written Tests : Monday - Friday    By appointment only. 
Car Drive Tests: Appointments are required.     ***Please call 515-332-1681 Option 1 *** 
 
ACCEPTED PAYMENT METHODS
Online:  eCheck, Debit, Discover, MasterCard and Visa      *** Additional Fees apply   
In Office:  Motor Vehicle & Property Taxes - Cash, Check, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, Debit   ***Additional Debit Fee of $2.00 - Credit Card Fee 2.25%***   
Driver's License - Cash, Check, Debit, MasterCard or Visa    ***Additional Card Transaction Fee of $1.50***
NOTICE - A collection fee of $35 will be charged on all insufficient fund checks returned for non-payment
** We DO NOT take payments by phone**
~ WHEN MAILING PAYMENTS: PLEASE INCLUDE ALL TAX STUBS~


Bill of Sale Required for Transferring Vehicle Titles


Effective January 1, 2020, the Iowa Department of Revenue will require customers to provide  a bill of sale for all title transfers pursuant to section 321.13 of the Iowa Code. When transferring titles to motor vehicles, trailers , motorcycles between private parties a bill of sale containing the Seller's name, make of the vehicle, year of the vehicle, Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), buyer's name, date of sale, purchase price, and signatures of both parties will be required. A bill of sale or purchase agreement is already required for vehicles purchased from a dealership.


Vehicle Renewals
Online Vehicle Renewals Exceptions:
  • Vehicles with personalized or special emblem plates may not be renewed online after the second month after the expiration.  (Ex: If the plate's registration month is December, you cannot renew the vehicle online after February 28th.)
  • A vehicle registration cannot be renewed online after the 8th month of penalty.  (Ex: If the plate's registration month is December, you will not be able to renew online after September 30th.)
  • Half year license and apportioned vehicles are not eligible for online renewal at this time.
  • Fire fighter plates cannot be renewed online.
  • If you have SR22 or have outstanding debts to the Clerk of Court, Department of Revenue or owe child support you will not be able to renew online.

Driver License Information

DL Test Pic

MYMVD       

Additional Motor Vehicle Information
Plate Pic 
              
  • For information on Personalized and Specialty plates, click HERE.
  • To order a Personalized or Specialty plate, click HERE.
December Truck Renewals - Remember if your truck is licensed for 28 ton or more, you need to show your Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax payment or exemption filed with the IRS (aka 2290).  We have the form in our office otherwise you can download it from the IRS website.

Form - http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f2290.pdf
Instructions - http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i2290.pdf

The IRS office in Fort Dodge is located at 1728 Central Ave.  Phone 515-576-1744

Firefighter License Plates - To apply for Firefighter plates or to renew your Firefighter plates, you need to get a Firefighter License Plate Application from your fire chief.  This needs to be done every year!

Handicap parking is located on the northeast corner of the court house. There is a handicap entrance on the east side of the building. This leads directly to the elevator. our office is on the first floor.

Jana Pettinger

Kerry Anderson

Ashley Krug

Lindsey Curry